Student Awards: Outstanding Community/Campus Leader Award

Candidates for this award must be seniors who have a minimum overall grade point average of 3.00, and a minimum grade point average in their psychology coursework of 3.25, while having completed, by graduation, a minimum of 45 credits taken at GMU.  The successful candidate should demonstrate active involvement and leadership in departmental, university, and/or community activities.  These activities may include, but are not limited to, participation in honor societies, student organizations, campus projects, or community agencies.  Both breadth and depth of involvement may be considered when choosing a winner. 

Nominations for this award should be submitted to the Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies (Jim Sanford) by full-time or adjunct faculty with knowledge of the candidate’s extracurricular activities.  Nominations should include a statement of qualifications written by the faculty member, an unofficial transcript, and a resume of the nominee.  In addition, letters of recommendation from those who have worked with the candidate in relevant activities may be included in the nomination packet.


All Awardees


  • Reese Samala


  • Alana Kot, Honorable Mention
  • Madeline Williams


  • LaDesha Batten, Honorable Mention
  • Daniel Lavelle


  • Shiva Hassanzadeh-Behbahani


  • Dustin Seidler, Honorable Mention
  • Ashley Sgandurra


  • Ali Martelli
  • Diana Morales, Honorable Mention


  • Teal M. Dye
  • Ruth Virginia Jackson


  • Deena Smith


  • Ivana L. Man


  • Bianchinetta Valverde


  • Cynthia Whitten
Print Friendly and PDF