Jeanne C. Mellinger Award Psychology

The Mellinger Award candidate must be an undergraduate psychology major, who is a graduating senior, and who has a minimum 3.50 overall GPA and a 3.70 Psychology GPA in 60 or more total hours at George Mason University.  Graduating seniors in their last semester may include current hours toward the total of 60 if the Psychology Department faculty judge that their overall GPA and Psychology GPA are likely to remain at or above the minimums.  The successful candidate should also demonstrate scholarship, leadership, and service to the department, university, and/or community through activities such as assisting faculty in research, serving actively in honor societies (e.g., Psi Chi, Golden Key, Alpha Chi), and student organizations (e.g., Psychology Club, Habitat for Humanity), and/or volunteering in mental health organizations, nursing homes, schools, churches, etc. 

Nominations can be made only by full-time faculty.  Each nomination must include a brief statement of qualifications written by the faculty member, an unofficial transcript, and a resume of the nominee. 

2021 Awardees

Jeremy Hayward

Jeremy Hayward


2020 Awardees

Julia Baines

2019 Awardees

Madeline Brawley

2018 Awardees

Margaret Morison

Nadine Rozell

2017 Awardees

Marisa Wakely

2016 Awardees

Denise Fedlan

2015 Awardees

Jennifer Nakamura

Shannon Willis Schrader

2014 Awardees

Nicolle Graham

2013 Awardees

Laya Muralidharan

2011 Awardees

George Buzzell

2010 Awardees

Svetlana Makarova

2009 Awardees

Gabrielle D'Lima

2008 Awardees

Afra Saeed

2005 Awardees

Sandhya Deshetty

Jennifer Falcone