College Faculty Honored at 2016 Celebration of Teaching Excellence

College Faculty Honored at 2016 Celebration of Teaching Excellence
Jane Flinn, David J. King Award recipient

On April 11, 2016, the Center for the Arts was the setting for George Mason University’s annual Celebration of Teaching Excellence, which recognizes faculty members for their work in promoting educational excellence. The College of Humanities and Social Sciences is proud of its faculty members who were recognized at the event.

Jennifer Brielmaier, of the Department of Psychology, and Christopher Coyne, from the Department of Economics, received University Teaching Excellence Awards, which honor the significant effort underlying course planning, curriculum development, innovative teaching, advising, and student mentoring.

Douglas Wulf, of the Linguistics program, was named among the university’s Teachers of Distinction, faculty members who are finalists for the Teaching Excellence Award and who are recognized university-wide for their commitment to teaching.

Perry Threlfall, of the Department of Sociology and Anthropology, received an Adjunct Teaching Excellence Award, which denotes commitment to excellence in education among the university’s adjunct faculty members.

Jane Flinn, faculty member in the Department of Psychology and director of the undergraduate program in the Department of Neuroscience, has been recognized with the David J. King Award. This award honors significant, long-term contributions to the university’s educational excellence, and is named for Dr. David J. King, who served as Mason’s Vice President for Academic Affairs from 1982 until his retirement in 1988. Dr. King is acclaimed for advancing the teaching experience at Mason, a quality embodied in this award.

We congratulate all of our faculty awardees and thank them for their services to the university and, especially, to our students.